## RESOLUTION 2018 -

A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF NASSAU COUNTY, FLORIDA, COMMEMORATING THE  $136^{\text{TH}}$  ANNIVERSARY OF ST. JAMES BAPTIST CHURCH IN CONJUNCTION WITH THEIR HOMECOMING CELEBRATION JULY 6-8, 2018.

WHEREAS, in 1835, following a period of economic and social depression, the Nassau County Courthouse was relocated from Fernandina Beach to Evergreen, a small community on County Road 108; and

WHEREAS, the Courthouse remained at this location for approximately 28 years before being moved further inland, away from Union troops during the Civil War; and

WHEREAS, on the first Sunday in May 1882, a group of Christian believers met and organized the St. James Baptist Church. Services were held in the building that previously housed the Courthouse in Evergreen; and

WHEREAS, the first Deacon Board were: Deacon Peter Melton, Deacon August White and Deacon Albert White; and

WHEREAS, other pastors that have served at St. James
Baptist Church include, Rev. G. Mizell, Rev. Hardwich, Rev.
D.J. Baker, Rev. S.S. Richo, Rev. Walter Baker, Elder Eddie
Lawrence, and Rev. Joel Robinson; and

WHEREAS, other Deacons that have served include Deacon
Willie Grant, Deacon Adolphus Albertie, Deacon Thomas

Albertie, Deacon Richard Albertie, Deacon Samuel Jacobs,
Deacon Clem Mason, Deacon Isaac Mason, and Deacon Darryl
Mason; and

WHEREAS, St. James Baptist Church has continued to grow and have added a Youth Department, Young Adult Choir, Children's Choir, Male Chorus, Allen Brooks Missionary Circle, Pastor's Study, Deacon's Room, and The Bishop Lawrence Fellowship Hall; and

WHEREAS, in 2010, the St. James Baptist Church became partners with Life Care Nursing Home and the Clara White Mission to extend their services and outreach to more members of the community; and

WHEREAS, the congregation is holding a Homecoming Celebration July 6-8, 2018, where past members will return to celebrate the life of the church with the existing members; and

WHEREAS, part of this Homecoming Celebration includes the celebration of one hundred and thirty-six (136) years of service to the Evergreen community.

WHEREAS, the St. James Baptist Church will continue their missions under the leadership of Rev. Johnnie Green, his Ministry Team, Dr. Sydell Mason, Evangelist May Mason, Minister Larry Gibson, and the Deacon Board: Deacon Freddie

Mason, Deacon George I. Mason, Deacon Gary Mason, Deacon James Jordan and Deacon Otis Mason.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the Board of County Commissioners of Nassau County, Florida, this \_\_\_\_\_\_ day of June, 2018 that:

- 1. The Board hereby commemorates the St. James Baptist Church on their  $136^{\rm th}$  anniversary.
- 2. The Board recognizes the many contributions that St. James Baptist Church has made to the Evergreen Community.
- 3. The Board extends their best wishes to St. James
  Baptist Church for their homecoming event.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS NASSAU COUNTY, FLORIDA

\_\_\_\_\_

PAT EDWARDS
Its: Chairman

ATTEST AS TO CHAIRMAN'S SIGNATURE:

JOHN A. CRAWFORD

Its: Ex-Officio Clerk

Approve	ed	as	to	form	bу	the
Nassau	Сс	unt	у	Attorr	ney	

NATOLIA DI COMILITA INI

MICHAEL S. MULLIN